In this section ...
English

In the English Department we strive to give every child the skills to read independently and to communicate clearly and accurately; to give them a lifetime of enjoyment and to support their professional ambitions.

Not only have our examination results been excellent, but we try to teach the courses in an exciting, dynamic way so that students can enjoy what they are studying. Film, video and drama are an integral part of the curriculum and we encourage pupils to develop their communication skills at all levels. The Department is well equipped and involves itself in a wide range of school activities. Theatre visits, public speaking competitions, mock magistrates trial competitions, school musical productions, house essay challenges, sponsored reading challenges, poetry competitions are only some of the events that the English team organise.

Literacy and communication skills are essential if students are to leave school equipped to deal with the demands of modern life. The English Department strives to develop these skills in each and every student. Reading skills are of paramount importance, and so the department makes good use of the library on a regular basis. 

Staff

Miss J Hopkins, Head of English - jhopkins@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk 
Ms S Carter-Tabasso - scartertabasso@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk 
Ms L Edmond - ledmond@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk
Mr S Elliott - selliott@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk 
Miss E Furze - efurze@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk
Miss J Gibb - jgibb@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk
Miss H Graham - hgraham@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk 
Mr J Marston - jmarston@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk