Year 8 Options

OPTIONS PROCESS

During the Spring of Year 8 your son will choose the subjects he wishes to study at Key Stage 4 in addition to the core subjects of English, Mathematics, Science, and Physical Education.

He will need to choose four further subjects, plus reserve subjects, and will need to think carefully about this, and speak to lots of different people. What does he enjoy? What is he good at? What does he want to do when he leaves school? Has he thought about a career? Click here for information about Adviza Careers service. 

We encourage boys who are aspiring for places at university to study for The English Baccalaureate, meaning he will need to choose a modern foreign language and Geography or History, or both. Whilst this is encouraged, we recognise that each student will have his own particular strengths, talents and areas of interest. We strongly urge all students to opt for a range of courses to support their future progression rather than following a narrow field.

The options process runs throughout the Spring term of Year 8 and includes an information evening for parents as well as the publication of our Options Booklet and our popular Options Event – a chance to come and talk informally to and about the subjects the boys are hoping to study at Key Stage 4.

To ensure your son makes the most appropriate choices for his future, we support him in a variety of ways through this process. We offer:

  • Focused 'Options' assemblies
  • Specific 'Careers' lessons within Personal Development
  • One-to-one meetings with the careers advisor
  • 'Taster' lessons in some new subjects
  • Support from Head of Year, Tutor and Student Support Managers
  • An Options Evening
  • Offer of further meetings with various pastoral staff

Key contacts throughout this process are:

  • Angela Walker - Careers Advisor
  • Head of Year 8
  • Mr Irwin - Deputy Headteacher
  • Mrs Foster, Miss Jones & Mrs Chenery - Inclusion Support
  • Subject teachers

Their personalised details can all be found under the "Contact Us" tab at the top of the website.

Links to Subject Presentations - 24th February 2021

Subject 

Staff contact 

Video link 

Art 

Miss Gooch
cgooch@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/svW-l6o1yIw 

Business Studies 

Mr Tomline
atomline@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/WhVhpFT_Rzs 

Computer Science 

Mr Rousch
arousch@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/hybw7HBipz4 

Drama 

Mrs Tottman
mtottman@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/r752KM9Qg2c 

Engineering 

Mr De Freitas
mdefreitas@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/BwURbsLb2Zs 

Film Studies 

Ms Edmond
ledmond@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/1Lr5ICietH0 

Food & Nutrition 

Ms Kumagi
skumagi@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/HxJBfWI6fpU 

French 

Ms Ghani
 sghani@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/Z4SddIQOwhw 

Geography 

Ms Loosley
aloosley@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/C6R6Q1J_JGU 

Graphics 

Mrs Cawley
wcawley@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/89zmIHeQtic 

History 

Mr Gregory
bgregory@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/kco8R2MNlJ8 

Mandarin 

Mrs Wicks
lwicks@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/UsI0bXhMrfw 

Music 

Mr Dingley
sdingley@didcotgirls.oxon.schuk  

https://youtu.be/IRY6y-DVLDM 

PE 

Mr Tamblin
stamblin@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/oMxL74thKIY 

Photography 

Mr Hudson
rhudson@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/zPS1cTf2tUU 

Psychology 

Mrs Pyatt
apyatt@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/4Zy3sLGkQ7s 

Religious Studies 

Mrs Hawthorne
ghawthorne@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/_dK9HoX6Ujk 

Spanish 

Mr Riolo
lriolo@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/ZT5N41evY6E 

21st Century Design 

Mrs Cottrell
rcottrell@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk  

https://youtu.be/tD4RsBv59dA

 

Mr Irwin's assembly regarding the Year 8 Options,10th February 2021:

Important Dates for the Options Process 2021

Week commencing Tuesday 9th February
Year 8 Options Assembly and distribution of options pack.

Wednesday 10th February to Thursday 25th March
During this time there will be opportunities for students to discuss choices with Subject Teachers, Subject Leaders, Tutors, and Head of Year. Parents are welcome to contact their son’s Head of Year to discuss option choices during this period.

Friday 12th February
Confirmation of which route – Ebacc or Open, we advise for each student will be sent home to support the consideration of different combination of Option subjects over the half-term break.

Wednesday 24th February
Options Event - This is an opportunity for parents and students to discuss their option choices with subject teachers and Heads of Faculty. The revised date and format of this event are being confirmed at present and will circulated to families as soon as possible.

Tuesday 2nd & Thursday 4th March
Year 8 Tutor meetings - This is an opportunity, should you wish to take it, to book an individual meeting with your son’s tutor and key support staff (Inclusion team) to discuss the options package your son is considering and explore routes forward. These meetings will take place remotely, most likely using the existing Parent Evening booking system – details of these events will be circulated after the half term break

Friday 5th March
Options choice form distributed to students. This will most likely be sent via email to families, however we are exploring the possibilities of using an entirely web-based system for the recording of options choices.

Monday 15th March – Friday 19th March
Opportunities for students to sign up to ‘taste’ option subjects. These sessions will require students to sign up in advance and, assuming Year 8 are continuing to work from home at that time, will take place via especially set-up Teams classes. If Year 8 have returned to full-time teaching at school by

Friday 26th March
The last day to hand in the option choices form – this will either be by return of a scanned options form or by completion of the online Options system.

All student option choice forms will be reviewed by a senior member of staff to check that there is a good ‘breadth and balance’ of subject choices which support aspiration for future pathways. There will be opportunities for further discussion, as appropriate, after 26th March.

Documents

Page Downloads Date  
Careers and Options handout 17th Jan 2020 Download
STUDENT OPTIONS BOOKLET 2021 2024 10th Feb 2021 Download
Year 8 Options Event 24th February 2021 12th Feb 2021 Download
Guidance Notes on How to use SIMS Option... 24th Mar 2021 Download
Back to Top