Local Governing Body

The Governing Body meets as a whole four times a year but conducts much of its business through the following specialist committees, which meet regularly through the year:

Curriculum & Standards (Chair: Graham Ballantyne)
Sixth Form (Chair: Paul Smith, Didcot Girls' School Governor)

The Chair and Vice Chairs may be contacted directly on: governors@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk

The Governing Body expects the school to be a safe and enjoyable place for teaching and learning and has high expectations of its staff and students. It is proud of the achievements of its students whether academic, vocational or in a wide range of extra-curricular activities, including within Didcot Sixth Form, which we run in partnership with Didcot Girls' School. We are also a proud member of the wider Didcot community.We were pleased that OFSTED evaluated the school as Good at its latest inspection in 2020 and that the report commented 

"St Birinus School is a vibrant and inspiring place for pupils to learn. Pupils are very proud of their school. They feel it is a friendly and welcoming place where they really feel valued."

However, we always strive to do better, to deliver the best possible education for our young people so that they can each achieve their full potential and make the most of the opportunities and face up to the challenges before them.

Conor Byrne, Chair of the Governing Body

Governance Officer: Miss C Ball, cball@ridgewayeducation.com

SBS Local Governing Body


Appointment type

Term of office


Special roles

Mr Graham Ballantyne


05/12/19 – 04/12/23

LGB; C&S Committee

LGB Vice Chair; C&S Committee Chair

Mr Conor Byrne


09/10/18 - 08/10/22

LGB; RET Finance & General Purposes Governor Representation

LGB Chair; Health & Safety

Mr Jon Driscoll

Trust- appointed

19/07/18 - 18/07/22

LGB; C&S Committee; Sixth Form Committee

LGB Vice Chair; Pupil Premium

Mr Andrew Forgan

Trust- appointed

26/02/19 - 25/02/23

LGB; Sixth Form Committee


Mrs Claire Greenough Trust-appointed 09/12/21 - 08/12/25 LGB GDPR

Mr Angus Horner

Trust- appointed

05/02/20 - 04/02/24


Mr Seth Howes Trust-appointed 09/12/21 - 08/12/25 LGB  

Mr William Manning

Ex-officio - Headteacher

From 01/09/19

LGB; C&S Committee; Sixth Form Committee

Mrs Natasha Millard Trust-appointed 09/12/21 - 08/12/25 LGB Careers
Mr Mitt Nathwani Trust-appointed 09/12/21 - 08/12/25 LGB  

Mrs Sally Scott


09/10/18 - 08/10/22

LGB; C&S Committee; Sixth Form Committee


Mr Alexander Shepherd Parent 24/06/21 - 23/06/2025 LGB SEND
Miss Hannah Rabey Staff 14/10/21 - 13/10/24 LGB; C&S Committee  

Mrs Rachael Warwick

Ex-officio - EHT




Historic records - governors who have left within the last year


Appointment type

Appointment dates

Mr Stephen White Trust-appointed 23/09/17 - 15/10/20
Mr Andrew Heley Staff 20/03/19 - 09/12/20
Mrs Nicola Gregory Trust-appointed 19/07/18 - 24/06/21
Dr Andrew Kaye Trust-appointed 22/09/17 - 21/09/21
Mrs Sally Povolotsky Parent 05/12/19 – 18/10/21



Page Downloads Date  
SBS Governor Attendance 2020 21 06th Sep 2021 Download
SBS Governors Register of Business and P... 13th Dec 2021 Download

House System

St Birinus has a Vibrant House system which ensures that staff and students work together to create a positive school community where everyone is included.
Discover More
Back to Top